Travels with the Heart

Jacquie and Rochelle, friends 48 years in the making. Still laughing. Not competing for As anymore.

Jacquie and Rochelle, friends 48 years in the making. Still laughing. Not competing for As anymore.

People ask where I will travel to as if filling my new passport is required before the end. I’ve been fortunate to travel to China and Finland and Austria and Australia and although there are many more I could see, it’s more about the people I want to see again.

I’m en route through Quebec today, where the churches are taller and the snow deeper and where in Montreal they changed the name of Dorchester Avenue to honor former premier Rene Levesque. It’s been awhile since I’ve been here.

Tonight I will visit with one of my oldest friends. Jacquie and I have known each other for 48 years. Decades have passed with little more than a Christmas visit or a summer stroll or even, I remember when I was working with two small kids, a memorable 7-minute coffee. She has lived in Quebec City for more than a decade and I’ve said many times, I’m coming to visit. But I never did until now.

There is something about a doctor’s declaration to spend your RRSP funds while you are whole and hearty, that gives me permission to do what I should have done years ago. To see the people I love, to share some time with them.

It’s the reconnection that makes us feel alive, so why do we wait until the end is calling to do what is really vital in our lives?

20130316-211146.jpg

This entry was posted in Inspirational, Living with Cancer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

