Life is Good

I haven’t written for awhile… but that is good. I am well and survived an incredibly busy summer.

Last year, August 2012, I was finishing chemo and the oncologist told me to expect my next remission to be shorter than the first. Ever competitive, I thought: I’ll show him. But in my mind I thought, I have a year to fill with adventure and reconnect with old friends. If cancer is going to return, I’m going to have a good time before it does.

My year was filled with skiing, snowshoeing, new romance, a move to a new, more affordable apartment. In June, my daughter led her team, The Pirates of the Nether Regions, to raise money for cancers below the waist. They ranked as the top team, raising $25,000… a total of $75,000 over the three years. Kate and her co-captain also shaved their heads to increase awareness of what we go through. (I’m in the hat with the sword on the far right!)

IMG_0330

To rest up… I went to Europe with my sister for 2.5 weeks. We saw my son graduate with his Master’s Degree in Economics at Cambridge, wandered the streets of Venice, and met family in Amsterdam.

IMG_0325In August I was home to host my OVCA support group for lunch, ferry to Pender Harbour for my book club retreat, camp beside Okanagan Lake with the scent of ripe peaches, and help my daughter set up her first apartment in Toronto. Now I’m home and living alone for the first time in 30 years.

I consider my health my job and I work hard at it with exercise, eating well, taking supplements and trying to keep the stress down. I can’t believe how many women I have known that this disease has taken in the three years I have been fighting it. What can we do but live each day the best we can for them and ourselves.

 

This entry was posted in Inspirational, Living with Cancer, The Underwear Affair and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Life is Good

  1. Chris Mann says:

    You are a beautiful and courageous woman, Rochelle, and I love your honest blogs and your inspirational messages. You are an outstanding example of someone living life to the fullest. Your positive attitude is extraordinary. May you continue to live life on your terms, with a spring in your step, and with conviction and passion each day.

    Like

  2. brissen1947 says:

    Rochelle, It is beautiful and moving to catch up with you. I recall your vivacious energy and talent at EXPO 86 working in our writing department. Those were exciting times! All the best, Constance

    Like

  3. Therese Vermette says:

    Forgot to tell you that this was a good one. Cheers once again to your good health. Thanks for a lovely dinner. Was great to see you doing so well.

    Xoxo

    Therese

    Like

Leave a Reply

